Dementia Australia


Our National Patron is His Excellency General The Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd), Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia.

The Dementia Australia Board

Graeme Samuel AC, Chair
Tony Newman, Vice-Chair
Greg Fraser
William Bass, Secretary, Public Officer and Treasurer
Amanda Quealy
Paul Robertson AO
Jenna Dennison
Neil Samuel
Maree McCabe, CEO Dementia Australia

Our Board is responsible for the governance of the organisation with the Chief Executive Officer responsible for the management of the organisation. The Board establishes the results to be achieved and the task of achieving these results are delegated to the Chief Executive Officer.

Under the terms of the revised Constitution, the Board comprises:

  • the Chairperson
  • the Chief Executive Officer
  • named┬áDirectors

Statement of Expectations

In performing their duties, the Board will:

  • at all times act lawfully and consistently with Dementia Australia policies
  • meet regularly to monitor the performance of management and Dementia Australia as a whole
  • ensure that they receive regular and accurate reporting on financial and service provision matters
  • regularly review its own performance as a basis for development and quality assurance
  • carry out its meetings in such a manner as to ensure fair and full participation of all Board members
  • ensure the assets of Dementia Australia are protected by a suitable risk management strategy
  • honour its obligations to Dementia Australia consistent with the Constitution.

Dementia Australia Limited

ABN 79 625 582 771